# EAST STAFFORDSHIRE BOROUGH COUNCIL

## LICENSING COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Meeting of the Licensing Committee held in the Coltman VC Room at the Town Hall, Burton upon Trent on Wednesday 6<sup>th</sup> March 2019.

#### Present:

Councillors B G Peters (Chairman), P L Ackroyd, E Barker, R J Clarke, S Gaskin, Mrs J Jones, D C Leese, Ms A Legg, S McKiernan, C Smith and C Wileman.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D F Fletcher, R Johnston and Mrs B Toon.

## **Officers Present:**

Mr M Rizk (Head of Service), Mrs A Wakefield (Solicitor and Monitoring Officer), Mrs M Woolley (Enforcement Manager), Miss L Kemplay (Enforcement Officer) and the Senior Democratic Services Officer.

## 68/18 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest at the commencement of the meeting.

### 69/18 URGENT BUSINESS

There was no urgent business brought forward to the meeting under Rule 12.

## 70/18 **MINUTES**

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 19<sup>th</sup> November 2018 were approved and signed as a correct record.

## 71/18 SETTING OF LICENSING FEES AND CHARGES

Members considered the Report of Mark Rizk, Head of Service, regarding the Setting of Licensing Fees and Charges. The proposed schedule of fees and charges in respect of the Council licensing activities was circulated prior to meeting for the Committee's consideration.

Members received a short presentation from Margaret Woolley (Enforcement Manager) outlining the Authority's responsibilities in relation to the licensing and registration of certain activities that are prescribed in a variety of statutes. The fees are required to be consulted upon and taken before the Licensing Committee for approval.

An opportunity for questions followed.

## **Resolved:**

1. That the Licensing Committee approved the revised schedule of fees and charges 2019/2020 as suitable to be published for the purposes of a consultation process.

2. To continue to monitor and undertake a review of the demand levels in licensing and the associated current available resource.

Those voting for the motions	Those voting against	Those abstaining
Councillor P L Ackroyd		
Councillor E Barker		
Councillor R J Clarke		
Councillor S Gaskin		
Councillor Mrs J Jones		
Councillor D C Leese		
Councillor Ms A Legg		
Councillor S McKiernan		
Councillor B G Peters		
Councillor C Smith		
Councillor C Wileman		

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

Chairman